Untitled 2




The Puerto Rico Transportation Technology Transfer Center was created on April 1, 1986 in the Department of Civil Engineering and Surveying of the University of Puerto Rico, Mayag├╝ez Campus. Initially, the Center was part of the Federal Highway Administration Rural Technical Assistance Program (RTAP) that emphasized technical assistance to local transportation officials in rural communities. With the approval of the Intermodal Surface Transportation Efficiency Act (ISTEA) in 1991, the program was changed to the present Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP) and included technical assistance to urban areas with an expansion of the network to 58 Centers (one in each state, seven in tribal communities and our Center).


Our Center was originally part of the Region 1 of the Federal Highway Administration geographical division that included the states located in the Northeastern portion of the United States.  Since 2002, as part of the reorganization of the Federal Highway Administration the Center is part of the Southeastern region with the states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.

 Tribal Technical Assistance Program

Serving East of the Mississippi

Colorado Tribal

Serving Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico and Utah

California - Nevada Tribal

Serving California and Nevada

Northern Plains Tribal

Serving Montana, Wyoming and the Dakotas

 Alaska Tribal

Serving Alaska/Alaska Natives

Northwest Tribal

Serving Washington, Oregon, Idaho and Western Montana

Oklahoma Tribal

Serving Oklahoma, Kansas, Texas and Nebraska

The Centers of Region 4 collaborate in organizing regional meeting and conferences and in sharing technology transfer materials and instructors.  At the national level, the LTAP Centers are coordinated by the Federal Highway Administration with the assistance of the American Public Works Association Clearinghouse and the National Association of Transportation Technology Transfer Centers. At the local level, our Center receives assistance and guidance from an Advisory Committee consisting of members from the Federal Highway Administration, the Puerto Rico Department of Transportation and Public Works, the US Virgin Islands Department of Public Works, the Office of the Commissioner of Municipal Affairs, and other agencies that deal with municipal and transportation issues.